One of the Most Beautiful Sights in Kyoto

“Like all great travelers, I have seen more than I remember, and remember more than I have seen.”
– Benjamin Disraeli

kyoto_2285a

I may not be as great a traveler as Benjamin Disraeli, but I have seen quite a bit and remember quite a few.

Among those things I’ve seen and remember is the Golden Pavilion in Kyoto. I do like temples and, though not a Buddhist, I find it soothing to the soul when I’m in a Zen temple or garden. This one in particular captures harmony between heaven and earth, and also shines in its beautiful setting.

The Golden Pavilion is worth visiting for a sight to remember, if not to soothe one’s soul.
___________________

Some facts about the Golden Pavilion
1. It is a World Heritage Site.
2. The top two stories are covered with gold leaf.
3. The gold is to purify any negative thoughts towards death.
3. Its origin dates back to the 1400s.
More info on the Golden Pavilion here.

Wanderlust
Harmony

12 thoughts on “One of the Most Beautiful Sights in Kyoto

Comments are closed.