Ant and Water Droplets Defy Gravity

rain_6773b

Elphaba:
“It’s time to try
Defying gravity
I think I’ll try
Defying gravity
And you can’t pull me down!”
Glinda:
“Can’t I make you understand?
You’re having delusions of grandeur.”
– From “Wicked”

How did that ant get there?  I was trying to shoot macros of the droplets when this creature made its way up the flower bud. Maybe it was having delusions of grandeur.

How can ants climb up vertical surfaces, seemingly immune to gravity?

If you’re interested in the science, the answer is here.

I was initially drawn by the water droplets that were formed by the rain. I thought they looked pregnant and ready to burst. Well, they seemed to be able to suspend themselves despite their weight.

If you’re interested in the physics, the explanation is here.

But what also intrigued me were the images inside the water droplets, as if each one is a lens to the world. Like this one that shows an entire house within each drop. How can it carry the weight?

rain_6793

“To see a world in a grain of sand
And a heaven in a wild flower,
Hold infinity in the palm of your hand
And eternity in an hour.”
– William Blake

Can the universe fit in a water droplet?
I guess we’ll have to ask the poets and philosophers for that.

Weight(less)

13 thoughts on “Ant and Water Droplets Defy Gravity

Comments are closed.